Online Texas Non-Commissioned Private Security Officer Level 2 Course
This course is required by the Texas Department of Public Safety-Regulatory Services Division to anyone wishing to work in the private security industry. In accordance with Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code and DPS rules, this course must be completed, to be able to issue you a “Non-Commissioned” (unarmed/basic security) license.
The Texas Level II non-commission private security course is the introductory class that everyone must take if they want to work security in Texas. It is a 6 hour mandatory class that goes over the basics of security. You can now take this State required course from the comfort of your own home and on various devices, such as; PC, Mac, or tablet. This level 2 non-commissioned course is easy to navigate and can be taken at your pace. Upon successful completion of the course and passing the 50 question built in exam students will be able to download a Certificate of Completion.
This course is designed to provide participants with the concepts and skills necessary of a non-commissioned security officer in the State of Texas. The online course delivers Texas Private Security Bureau approved curriculum for non-commissioned security officers.
Note: You do not have to be employed prior to taking this class
*** IMPORTANT INFO REGARDING LEVEL 1 TRAINING***
Level 1 training has been repealed by the Texas Department of Public Safety-Private Security Bureau, administration rules as of February 1st, 2010.
Texas level 2 course topics to be discussed:
- Responsibilities and Roles of a Security Officer
- Areas of Responsibility
- Prevention and Deterrence
- Relations with Local Police
- Observation and Report Writing
- Authority to Question and Basis for Making Decisions
After you receive your certificate of completion for having completed the Level 2 Security Training, you have 90 days to register with the State of Texas Private Security Bureau. Your employer can register you, or you may find a security guard company to sponsor you. Either way, it is your responsibility to pay your own fees.
- 18 yrs. old
- No class A misdemeanors or convictions within the last 10 yrs
- No class B arrest or convictions within the last 5 yrs
- No felonies within the last 20 yrs
- Must be mentally competent
- Must have no history of substance abuse or addiction
- Military, must be honorably discharged
- You must pay your registration fee
- Must complete the 6 hour course